Brush brush baby! Basic Brush Intel

20130429-012945.jpg

Sample of my brushes by sizes. Large Brush is around 9 inches and the smallest one is 3 inches. All brushes available in the Philippines and affordable

Ever since I started getting interested in make-up, I have been completely obsessed with brushes. I love the colors, the variety the sizes, the textures and how it feels in my skin. It’s best to consider investing on a few key brushes. High Quality brushes from well known brands like Sephora, brands from make-up artist and high end cosmetics are all over the market. This is all well can good but for someone who is on a budget like me, I went off in search for alternatives. Less expensive but good quality brushes can be found, you just have to know where to look.

I am not a professional make-up artist, I am certain they have a more extensive collection, since that is what they need for their trade. Like most women, I am still learning about cosmetic and the tools I’ll need. I just want to share where to get good quality brushes at a portion of the cost of the imported or high end brands.

Here are just some samples of the brushes I’ve found. Affordable yet sturdy and just as gorgeous as the expensive brands. Most of the brushes, I am proud to say are Philippine Brands.

20130428-215209.jpg
CQ 7pc Brush Set Pink (Goat Hair)
Size: Regular
Price: 450php
Available: multiply.com/eazyfashion
These are the first brushes I ever bought. It is very soft, but it is made from goat hair there a strong gamey smell to it but it went away shortly after I washed it.

20130427-200136.jpg
Snoe Beauty 22 piece brush set in purple (Synthetic)
Size: Long
Price: 1399php
Available: Cinderella
I saw these beautiful brushes at the BDJ Beauty Social, in the photos they look blue but they are actually purple. To be honest I have no idea what some of the other brushes are for, but I will soon enough. 😝 I also like that this is from a local brand from a Pinay entrepreneur.

20130428-231704.jpg
Artist Studio Accessories Individual Brushes
Size: Long
Price: 50-250php
Available: Landmark
I bought these brushes per piece, made in Brazil and certainly good quality. Fon’t make the mistake of not testing the brushes first before buying. I made a mistake of getting a brush without testing it on my face and I found it very rough or “maaligasgas”/ scratchy. I now use that brush to clean the keyboard of my desktop computer at the office.

20130427-230141.jpg
Kabuki 5pc Brushes from Chic Cosmetics (Synthetic)
Size: Regular
Price : 1100php
Available: facebook.com/ChicCosmeticsManila
These Kabuki brushes are comparable to that of Sigma brushes based on some of the blog reviews. I got them because I like the uniqueness of the brushes, it actual gives my make-up a flawless finish.

20130428-215149.jpg
Suesh Smokey Eye Set 4pc (Sable)
Size: Regular
Price: 850php
Available: Suesh Kioks Trinoma
Suesh is a brand that not only specialize in a make-up tools but also conducts training in basic and advance make-up application. I like that their brushes are if the highest quality and they have a Brush Guarantee that if your Suesh brush has unusual shedding (when it loses hair) they will replace it for free. This shows they have enough faith in their products quality to guarantee it.

20130428-215202.jpg
Forever21 Brush Set 4pc (Synthetic)
Size: Regular
Price: 225php
Available: Forever21 Stores
I bought these brushes because they look sooo cuter! They will end up in Raffy’s hands eventually since i haven’t used them at all, but still very cute. I don’t think F21 has this design in the stores since they usually come in a limited edition but I am certain they have other brushes to choose from.

20130427-194211.jpg
Etude House Sweet Propose 4pc Brushes perfect for traveling
Size: Travel Size (Synthetic)
Price: Free from Etude House
These brushes are what I bring to work, very compact just around 3 inches, the brushes are sturdy well made and sooo adorable. I am such a big fan of this Korean make-up brand. They also have full size brushes and all of their designs are fit for a princess👸.

20130428-220531.jpg
Marionnaud
**eyelash and brow comb
Size: Long
Price: 99php
**eyebrow double sided brush (Synthetic)
Size: Long
Price: 119php
Available: Watson
These brushes I bought per piece. I have worn out my old ones since these are replacements. I use mascara and eyebrow gels a lot so, I get a lot of use out of these and I am glad to find them available for purchase as individual pieces instead of as part of a set.

20130428-215139.jpg
Nichido Kabuki Brush (Synthetic)
Size: Standard
Price: 238php
Available: Watson
This is my first kabuki brush that I use to put loose powder. It’s the same size as the Charm Kabuki Brush but a portion of the cost. I have been using this for 2 years and it there was minimal shedding.

Basic Brush Care:

20130427-194829.jpg
Drying my brushes using a cutlery rack, available in the grocery or supermarket

The first thing I did after getting my first brush set is to read on how to take care of them. A good set of brushes will last years if you take care of them. A clean brush will also prevent breakouts so it is best to keep everything we use on your face clean.
1. Be sure to wash your brushes gently with mild soap or my personal preference baby shampoo and warm water every week ( or after every use if your acne prone). You can clean them in between washing using a spray brush cleaner. Spitz the cleaner on the bristles, and wipe with tissue until all cosmetic residue is removed from the brush.although this can be expensive but if your brushes are for your own use, I suggest you just wash them once a week religiously.
2. To clean the brushes, take a drop of shampoo in your palm and swirl the bristles around your palm until it is covered with suds, rinse well until all the shampoo residue is gone. Don’t dip the brush head in water! The bristles are glued to the base and it will come apart. You have been warned. Squeeze the excess water with a clean towel, reshape the brush head. you can let them dry flat with the bristles hanging off the edge of the count so they will dry in perfect shape. Don’t dry them on top of a towel because they might become mildewed while drying. I personally use a stainless cutlery rack to dry my brushes. Usually with the bristles pointing downward to avoid getting the glue at the base of the brush wet.
3. Keep brushes separated from your make-up either in a brush roll with individual slots or a brush case that doubles as a brush rack.

20130428-220745.jpg
Brush Case
Full Size: Long & Regular Brushes
Price: 399php
Available: Landmark
I bought this brush case last Christmas. Aside from the design, I like that I can use it as a brush carrier for my long brushes or a container for both my Long and Regular size brushes. They keep the dust away from the individual brushes I bought that came without a brush roll.

I must admit I do love the tools just as much as I love the cosmetics.😁 I have a long way to go in learning about make-up application but I do hope that what I shared with you will help you out
when you are in search for the most affordable tools there are in the market.

Until next time!

Muah- joeydragonlady🐉

***all the brushes written about above were purchased by me and in no way this blog was sponsored by the brands mentioned above***

Follow my twitter : joeydragonlady
View my Instagram : joeydragonlady

This entry was posted in Beauty, Brazil, Brushes, KOREA, Philippines, Tools and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Brush brush baby! Basic Brush Intel

  1. kat says:

    Is love to hear your review on the snoe 22 piece brush set, i have the pink version, have you tried the smaller brushes yet?

  2. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired!
    Very helpful information particularly the closing section 🙂 I take care of such information a lot.
    I used to be looking for this particular info for a long time.
    Thanks and best of luck.

  3. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention thatt I’ve really enjoyed browsing your weblog
    posts. In any case I will bbe subscribing tto your rss
    feed andd I’m hoping you write once moee soon!

  4. Ahaa, its plewasant discussion regarding this post hee at this webpage, I have
    read all that, sso att this ttime me also commenting
    here.

  5. Thankfulness to my father who shared with me regarding this website, this
    website is genuinely remarkable.

  6. I think this is one of the most importznt information for me.

    And i am glad reading your article. But want to remarrk on few general things, The web site style
    is perfect, thhe articles iss really great : D.

    Goodd job, cheers

  7. Kim says:

    Hi! I just want to know how are the snoe brush set? do they shed? are they of good quality? does the color from the brush wear out? pls reply thank u! 🙂

  8. My brother suggdsted I might like this website. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

  9. I love looking through an article that can make people think.
    Also, thanks for allowing mme to comment!

Leave a Reply

